top of page
Alexandra Navrotsky (2).jpg


Regents Professor, School of Molecular Sciences and School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy
Affiliated Faculty Member, School of Earth and Space Exploration
Director, Center for Materials of the Universe
Arizona State University

Alexandra Navrotsky was educated at the Bronx High School of Science and the University of Chicago (B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. in physical chemistry). After postdoctoral work in Germany and at Penn State University, she joined the faculty in chemistry at Arizona State University, where she remained until her move to the Department of Geological and Geophysical Sciences at Princeton University in 1985. She chaired that department from 1988 to 1991 and was active in the Princeton Materials Institute. In 1997, she became an interdisciplinary professor of ceramic, earth, and environmental materials chemistry at the University of California at Davis and was appointed Edward Roessler Chair in Mathematical and Physical Sciences in 2001. She served as interim dean of the University of California Davis College of Letters and Sciences Department of Mathematical and Physical Sciences from 2013 to 2017. She organized the NEAT (Nano and New Materials in Energy, the Environment, Agriculture, and Technology) research group in 2002 and has directed the Peter A. Rock Thermochemistry Laboratory since her arrival in 1997.



World Academy of Ceramics, Science Professional Member 2017
W. David Kingery Award, American Ceramic Society 2016
Victor M. Goldschmidt Award, Geochemical Society 2016
American Philosophical Society 2011
Roebling Medal (the highest honor of the Mineralogical Society of America) 2009
Harry H. Hess Medal, American Geophysical Union 2006
Spriggs Phase Equilibria Award 2005
Urey Medal (the highest career honor of the European Association of Geochemistry) 2004
The Mineralogical Society (Great Britain), Fellow 2004
Benjamin Franklin Medal in Earth Science 2002
Doctor Honoris Causa, Uppsala University, Sweden 1995
Ross Coffin Purdy Award, American Ceramic Society 1995
National Academy of Sciences, Fellow 1993.
Physics and Chemistry of Minerals, editor 1986-1991
Geochemical Society, Fellow 1997
Vice-President, Mineralogical Society of America (1991-1992), President (1992-1993)
American Geophysical Union, Fellow 1988
Mineralogical Society of America Award 1981
Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship 1973

About: CV
bottom of page